What does synchronize folder mean in Lightroom?

When you synchronize folders, you have the option of adding files that have been added to the folder but not imported into the catalog, removing files that have been deleted, and scanning for metadata updates. The photos in the folder and all subfolders can be synchronized.

What does synchronize do in Lightroom?

Synchronizing folders helps you use Lightroom to track all those changes and versions that have been made outside of Lightroom. Synchronizing also helps out with organization — especially if you’ve done an overhaul of the locations and file structure of where your pictures are stored.

What is a synchronized folder?

Folder synchronization occurs when a file from a specific directory in one system is mirrored to another directory in another system. You can also automate this synchronization process to occur anytime a change is made to any of the folder’s files.

How do you sync photos in Lightroom?

First, select a group of photos and then hit the “Auto Sync” button to apply the settings across the whole group of images. Auto Sync can be found below the panels on the right of Lightroom. To enable Auto Sync, flip the switch next to the “Sync” button.

What does update folder location do in Lightroom?

Select the Update Folder Location option and point it to the folder’s new location. Lightroom will then update the Catalog with the new location for all the moved images. Once you see that all the moved images are intact, you can delete the original folder and its contents from the hard drive.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Where is heal selection in Gimp?

Does Lightroom sync video?

Lr CC supports video. It stores original files in the cloud. … Videos will also take much longer to sync (upload) depending on your upload speed.

How do I automatically sync two folders?

Mirror sync

  1. Select your source and destination folders on the left and right columns, respectively.
  2. Click compare to view the differences between source and destination, then configure the sync variant to be “Mirror”.
  3. Filter a file via the right-click menu.
  4. Save your configuration file as a batch job to run minimised.

How does file synchronization work?

File Synchronization (a.k.a. File Sync) is the process of ensuring that two or more locations contain the same, up-to-date, files. If you add, change, or delete a file from one location, the synchronization process will add, change, or delete the corresponding file at the other location.

How do I speed up Lightroom CC sync?

Here are 10 tips to speed up Lightroom and get you breezing through your editing again.

  1. Increase ACR Cache. …
  2. Render 1:1 Previews on Import. …
  3. Use Smart Previews. …
  4. Optimize Your Catalog. …
  5. Use Your Videocard for Processing. …
  6. Make a New Catalog. …
  7. Convert Raw Files to DNG. …
  8. Apply Presets on Import.
The artist's world